Data lost when copying config from one workspace to another

Hi,

I have two workspaces in SiYuan. I wanted to copy all the config from one workspace to another. I copied the "conf" folder from the first workspace folder to the second.

However, in the second workspace, all the notebooks from the first one appeared. I deleted them manually. Then, when checking the first workspace, all the notebooks were gone from it as well.

There was some important data in those notebooks, and I have no idea how to restore them. I assumed the workspace folders are completely independent one from another, so why does something so simple as copying all the config also copy all the data, and synchronizes that data between the folders?

    Welcome to here!

    Here we can learn from each other how to use SiYuan, give feedback and suggestions, and build SiYuan together.

    Signup About
    Please input reply content ...
    • 88250

      Please refer to @zxhd86 's solution above, which is to use "Full manual sync" to upload.

      image.png

    • MiscReply
    • akmtk
      VIP Warrior Author

      Update: I was able to restore the data via Main Menu / Data History, there select Snapshots, rollback to the previous snapshot.

      BUT, now cloud sync doesn't work! Whenever I sync, it gives me back the state with the deleted data. How do I force the cloud to make the rolled back state as the current, most recent?

    • akmtk
      VIP Warrior Author

      Are there any plans then to make it possible to copy the config (as in, the settings you set from the user interface, e.g. use Adaptive Width) from one workspace to another?

      I'd like to isolate personal files from work files, but I would like to share the settings between the two workspaces. Ideally, it would be good to have the settings configurable per-app, not per-workspace.

      Edit: just splitting the user-facing config and system config in two separate files, and documenting it somewhere, would already be a great solution!

      1 Reply
    • 88250

      The configuration file contains cloud sync directory information, so if two workspaces use the same configuration file, they are equivalent to being connected to the same cloud directory, so they will affect each other through data synchronization.

      1 Reply
    • Visit all replies