Reduce Cloud Storage Amount

Is it possible to delete old snapshots / decide only to keep a certain number of snapshots to reduce cloud storage? I currently need around 500mb of storage which seems to be mostly 6mb snapshots. Download traffic is negligible in comparison (15mb) even though I'm syncing 4 devices so there should be a lot of redundant data.

Thanks!

    Solution
    • 88250

      Hello, cloud data snapshots currently cannot be "unreferenced cleanup" (local snapshots can be cleaned through Settings - About - Data repo purge). Currently, the cloud storage can only be manually deleted and rebuilt.

      In the future, we will consider adding the "Cloud directory purge" function Issue #10081 · siyuan-note/siyuan thank you.

    Welcome to here!

    Here we can learn from each other how to use SiYuan, give feedback and suggestions, and build SiYuan together.

    Signup About
    Please input reply content ...
    • 88250 1

      Theoretically there should be no such problem. Please synchronize all devices before cleaning to ensure data consistency.

      It should be noted that it is best not to have any online devices during the cleaning of cloud storage to avoid data being continuously uploaded while cleaning.

    • MiscReply
    • dwinkl
      PRO Author

      Thank you! Just to clarify, to safely manually delete the cloud snapshots I would just make sure I have the latest changes on a machine, delete the data in the s3 bucket and reupload from that machine. Are the other machines automatically going sync to that "new" snapshot and forget about the previous cloud state without problems (I am worried about an inconsitent data state where other machines expect particular snapshots to exist or there is some kind of dependency between them that the "new" snapshot is obviously unaware of)?

      1 Reply
    • 88250

      Hello, cloud data snapshots currently cannot be "unreferenced cleanup" (local snapshots can be cleaned through Settings - About - Data repo purge). Currently, the cloud storage can only be manually deleted and rebuilt.

      In the future, we will consider adding the "Cloud directory purge" function Issue #10081 · siyuan-note/siyuan thank you.

      1 Reply